Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee

Chair: Sanjay Govindaraj, RSW

The mandate of the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion (DEI) Committee is to consider and make recommendations to Council on:

  • The potential for, and/or existence of, systemic and structural racism, discrimination and/or bias within the College’s statutory, regulatory and governance policies and processes.
  • Strategies (including revisions to bylaws, standards, guidelines and policies) to address any identified issues.
  • An approach to meaningful engagement with Indigenous communities to implement the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s calls to action within the regulatory sector.
  • The enhancement of educational resources to support College registrants in practising ethically and professionally, with a focus on considerations related to equity, diversity and inclusion.

The DEI Committee transitioned from the DEI Task Group in 2022. The DEI Task Group was created to assist the College in moving forward on its commitment to increase diversity, equity and inclusion.