DEI Task Group Meeting Highlights – September 20, 2022

  • Amanda Bettencourt, RSSW, reflected on the Land Acknowledgement, as an Indigenous Member of the Task Group.
  • Co-Chair Sanjay Govindaraj, RSW, welcomed Task Group members to the meeting.
  • The minutes from the July 14, 2022 meeting of the Task Group were reviewed.
  • Lise Betteridge, Registrar and CEO, provided some background information regarding Council’s approval of the following recommendations:
    • approval of a bylaw amendment to Bylaw No. 1, which adds the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee to the College’s list of non-statutory committees;
    • approval in principle of the OCSWSSW Equity and Inclusion Data Policy (previously called the Member Census Data Policy); and
    • approval that the necessary work be undertaken to give effect to recommendations 16 and 18 by the new Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Task Group.