2021 Election Results for Electoral District No. 4

On Thursday, May 27, 2021 the College held its Council elections in Electoral District No. 4. The Elections Committee has now declared the following candidates elected in Electoral District No. 4 to serve on the College Council for a three-year term, beginning September 9, 2021.

Election results

Social service work category:
The following members of the College are the candidates who were acclaimed in the social service work category

  • Amanda Bettencourt, RSSW
  • Sue-Ellen Merritt, RSSW

Social work category:
The following members of the College are the candidates who received the greatest number of votes in the election in the social work category:

  • Sanyjay Govindaraj, RSW
  • Elayne Tanner, RSW

Electoral District No. 4 is composed of the geographic area within the territorial boundaries of the Regional Municipalities of Halton, Hamilton-Wentworth, Niagara, Waterloo and Haldimand-Norfolk, the Counties of Dufferin and Wellington and the County of Brant.

Role of Council members

Council members provide direction to the College and its staff in fulfilling its mandate to protect the public interest. This includes:

  • Developing policies to regulate the practice of social work and social service work which reflect the College’s public protection mandate.
  • Governing and managing the affairs of the College.
  • Attending and participating in Council meetings and statutory committees.

The College thanks and congratulates all members who stood for election.

If you have any questions regarding College elections, please contact Pat Lieberman at plieberman@ocswssw.org.