12 Mar 2021

OCSWSSW New Council President

The Ontario College of Social Workers and Social Service Workers (the College) would like to announce that Mukesh Kowlessar, RSSW, has become the Council President in accordance with College bylaws following the recent resignation of Toula Kourgiantakis, RSW, as President on March 10, 2021. The College Council looks forward to continuing to implement its strategic priorities outlined in the College’s 2020-2023 Strategic Plan under Mukesh’s leadership.

The College would like to thank Toula for her dedication to the College’s public protection mandate and her service in her role on Council and committees over the past 3 ½ years, and as President.

The College would also like to thank the Executive Committee members for their work during this transition:

  • Mukesh Kowlessar, RSSW – President
  • Déirdre Smith, Public Member – Vice-President
  • Sanjay Govindaraj, RSW – Executive Member
  • Shelley Hale, RSSW – Executive Member
  • Pamela Murphy, Public Member – Executive Member

“I look forward to continuing the important work of the College with Mukesh and Council as we operationalize its strategic priorities and raise awareness of the College and its important regulatory role,” notes College Registrar and CEO Lise Betteridge, RSW.

The Council is the 21-member governing body and board of directors that manages and administers the College’s affairs. Council oversees the policy direction of the College as it fulfills its mandate to protect the public interest. The Executive Committee is a statutory committee of Council. It provides leadership to Council and facilitates its efficient and effective functioning.

To learn more about the Council, including member biographies, visit the OCSWSSW Council Members webpage.

Should you have questions regarding this eBulletin, please contact the Communications Department at communications@ocswssw.org.