Abstract of raised hands

The election of Council members in District No. 1 will take place on May 30, 2019.

Electoral District No. 1

  • Elects one social worker and one social service worker
  • Composed of the geographic area within the territorial boundaries of the Districts of Kenora, Rainy River, Thunder Bay, Cochrane, Timiskaming, Sudbury, Algoma, Manitoulin, Parry Sound and Nipissing and the District Municipality of Muskoka.

Call for Nominations for 2019 Election – Closed

Role of Council

The Council is the 21-member governing body and board of directors that manages and administers the College’s affairs.

Council oversees the policy direction of the College as it fulfills its mandate to protect the public interest. This includes:

  • Developing policies to regulate the practice of social work and social service work which reflect the College’s public protection mandate.
  • Governing and managing the affairs of the College.
  • Attending and participating in Council meetings and statutory committees.

Council members are responsible for governing and managing the affairs of the College and for developing policies that regulate the professions of social work and social service work. Council members play a leadership role in the regulation of social workers and social service workers, reflecting the College’s primary duty to serve and protect the public interest while promoting high standards of practice.

What Is Involved in Being a Council Member?

  • Participation in setting policies which regulate the professions of social work and social service work;
  • Responsibility for governing and managing the affairs of the College;
  • Responsibility for investigating complaints about social workers and social service workers and for disciplining social workers and social service workers found guilty of professional misconduct.
  • Responsibility for protecting the public interest, rather than representing any particular constituency;
  • Attendance at Council meetings and meetings of one or more statutory or non-statutory committees;
  • Time commitment: Approximately 25 days per year (including Council Meetings, participation on at least one statutory committee and preparation time for Council meetings and committee meetings). The time involved varies depending on the committee. In addition, some committees require considerable preparation time at home prior to meetings;
  • All Council members receive a per diem honorarium and reimbursement of all reasonable related travel, accommodation and meal expenses;
  • The term of office is no greater than three years; a member of Council may serve for more than one consecutive term, provided that no person may serve for more than ten consecutive years;
  • The term of office (three years) of a Council member elected in this election will end at the first regular Council meeting following the election in May 2022.

How to Vote

Members will be able to vote online. The voting system is designed to be secure and to protect the confidentiality of members’ votes. It is one that has been used successfully by other Ontario regulatory colleges. This online election process improves efficiency and reduces paper, printing and mailing costs associated with the election.

Members will be able to vote on May 1, 2019.

If you have further questions, contact Pat Lieberman by phone at (416) 972-9882 x207 or 1-877-828-9380 x207 or by email at plieberman@ocswssw.org.